The Break O’Day municipality is one of Tasmania’s prime tourism destinations. It comprises the eastern portion of the Fingal Valley and stretches along the coast from the Denison River in the south, to Eddystone Point in the north. Its spectacular scenery includes the coastline, Blue Tier, South Esk River, Eddystone Point, and includes portions of the Douglas-Apsley and Mount William national parks.
With an area of 3,809 square kilometres, the municipality is one of the largest local government areas in the state. Its population stands at around 6,000 which doubles during the summer holiday season. The principal industries in the area are tourism, mining, forestry, agriculture and fishing.
The coastal strip includes the towns and holiday communities of St Helens, Scamander, Stieglitz, Four Mile Creek, Seymour, Falmouth, Beaumaris, Binalong Bay and Ansons Bay. Inland population centres include St Marys, Fingal, Mathinna, Cornwall, Goshen, Pyengana and Weldborough.