The township of Scamander is situated mid way between St Helens and St Marys and is the Break O’ Day municipality’s principal surfing centre, with boating and fishing not far behind.
Scamander – initially called Yarmouth – was first explored in 1825 by noted surveyor, John Helder Wedge. The present township is at the outlet of a large river which proved a real barrier to early travellers, especially Wedge. Originally it was named Borthwick; then Hansons Creek; and finally the Scamander River, its official name today.
Scamander became the location of the first coastal tourist venture in the north-east when, in 1896, John Walker and his brother, Frank, both carpenters by trade, built the Scamander Hotel on the approximate site of the present day Pelican Sands Holiday Units.
As well as stunning beaches,
Scamander offers nature lovers the delights of the recently proclaimed Winifred Curtis Reserve with wildflowers of one kind and another blooming all year round.