Scottsdale is the centre of a rich agricultural and forestry area in the northeast of Tasmania and serves, some of the richest agricultural and forest country in the state.
It is the largest town in this relatively undeveloped corner of the state. Initially the area was known as 'Cox's Paradise' after Thomas Cox, the first european settler, and was also referred to as 'Heazleton, Heazlewood and Ellesmere'. The town was eventually named after James Scott, the governor surveyor who explored much of northeastern Tasmania in the early 1850's. It became Scottsdale by local request in 1893. The first district sawmills were built in 1862 and the railway from Launceston arrived in 1889.
Presently there are several large timber mills on the outskirts of town, while Simplot process and freeze potatoes along with a variety of locally grown produce. More food processing takes place in the Army Research Division which processes dehydrated food for the armed forces.
Seed growing, mining, dairy and crop farming of poppies, lavender are some of the other industries in the area.
The view from the sideling lookout on the main highway 16kms from Scottsdale is superb. Northeast park provides scenic picnic facilities, BBQ areas, a children’s playground and pleasant walks through unique flora.
The Forest EcoCentre which provides full TVIN facilities, Features a greenhouse style forest interpretive centre that is a must see.
Scottsdale offers full visitor facilities including, hotel, motel and caravan park accommodation supported by a shopping centre, an Online access centre, a restaurant, café and take-aways, a 9 hole golf course, bowls, a heated swimming pool and large recreation ground used by a variety of sporting clubs